Sideways and Stuck

This pretty much sums up our week last week. Stuck sideways in the mud. It was just one of those weeks (2 flat tires-one for each of us, construction issues, computer issues, light issues, cabin issues, yadda yadda yadda) And Friday night capped it all off when our moron Fedex driver just randomly decided to drive straight into our ditch.

I'll be the first to admit that our driveway isn't easy. It's a looong one-lane gravel drive with a ditch on one side and a steep drop-off on the other. If you meet someone coming the other way, one of you is backing up. Period. I even time my arrival home from work so that I don't meet construction vehicles on the drive. It's steep in places, but fairly straight except for one hairpin turn. But this jerk literally just drove straight into the ditch on the nicest, straightest, flattest part of the driveway - in mud up to his axles because we JUST buried our waterline under that ditch. And the tow-truck driver is no stranger to this guy, apparently he's pulled him out quite a few times. Seriously Fedex??? So after the three ring circus to get him out (the wrecker couldn't back all the way down the drive, so winches and trees got into the act) we were left with a muddy mess and spent our Sunday fixing the ditch. Oh, and the 15 boxes he delivered - he left them sitting in the rain. :-\ 

Fortunately progress on the house isn't stuck quite this badly! Interior painting is done, interior trim is almost done, and a few rooms also have floors now! The electrician is finishing up this week with interior and exterior lights and ceiling fans. And the plumber is doing the final hook-up for the water (unless the Fedex driver crushed our new line) and he'll begin installing fixtures this week as well.

We still do not have a move-in date firmed up, but we've given up on being in before Christmas - now shooting for January <sigh>

The majority of the trim in the house is installed and painted - this was no easy task considering the number of windows!

Sunroom is trimmed and the floor is in (mostly). I was excited when I got home from work that day and Scott told me the floor was in, only to discover they covered it up with kraft paper. Guess I'll have to wait for the big reveal!
Sunroom flooring - I love this weathered-look gray wood! The flooring company goofed on the measurement and we were short exactly ONE board! (replacement on it's way though :-)

The kitchen lighting has been one problem after another. The hanging lights were way too short and designed in such a way that they cannot be easily extended. The three hanging lights in this photo will be lowered and we had to send back the other four as they cannot be adapted easily - it's cheaper just to get a different fixture. At least we have the floor installed - next is cabinets!
Master bedroom with french doors out to the deck and a doorway to the sunroom, which will also have french doors. This will eventually be carpeted.
Master bathroom - the most "unfinished" room in the house - vanity goes on the left and the right is the shower (yes, it's big - Scott's wish list item!!). Shower and floor tile is on its way and the vanity is being made by our cabinet makers
The basement is starting to take shape as well, although this space is not our priority right now. This is directly underneath the great room, so the windows follow that same pattern.

Basement guest bedroom with french doors out to the patio, underneath the deck. 
Just a simple outdoor light but seeing it every day is my reminder that the little things are happening and we WILL eventually live here....someday....maybe...before I die. LOL, spirits are flagging and we're both frustrated, but we'll get there eventually.

Comments

Popular Posts